1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

1996 F250 7.3 Diesel cranking but not starting

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2014, 08:57 PM
mx4nam
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1996 F250 7.3 Diesel cranking but not starting

I am a rookie on this site and I apologize in advance if this has been covered already.

My Truckie does not start very well in the cold as is but today was the 2nd time she cranked but would not start/fire up. Yesterday I tried 3 times, 3rd time lucky and she started and ran great, except she was a little iffy when I started her again a little later.

After the 2nd try this morning I decided to quit as I was already running late for work. I have not tried again but am trying to do some research and see what possible problems could be. A friend from work suggested I check the glow plug relay first and then check the wire connectors and harnesses that go through the valve cover. Possibility that glow plugs might need changing, have never done that before, never work on Truckie other oil change, filters etc

Sounds all good when you know how everything looks like but when you have never worked on your truck's engine before, it is not just overwhelming but a little scary. I have always been afraid to work on my motorcycles because of fear of messing something up, but have become very confident after working on my 3 bikes.

However, I am just a silly woman who loves her truck more than anything and would like nothing more to learn how to recognize and fix minor issues like this. She's beat up and ugly but want to (eventually) fix her up properly.

I learn best hands on or watching someone working but after looking at endless schematics and photos.....

Old 12-23-2014, 09:19 PM
oldbird1965
Fleet Owner

Received 125 Likes on 103 Posts