Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headlight switch question

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2014, 08:04 PM
GreenMachinee
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Headlight switch question

How many pulls on the headlight **** for regular driving lights? I think i have been driving with my brights on for a few months sense ive had my truck. I pull once for my side markers and dash lights, i pull again and nothing happens then again which i believe are the brights (when the Blue headlight insignia pops up.) I mean they arent to bright at this point but i could see how they could be my "brights"

Thoughts?

Old 11-26-2014, 08:57 PM
f100beatertruck
Cargo Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
There's a switch on the floor behind the emergency brake. Just step on it to switch between high and low beams.

Old 11-26-2014, 09:03 PM
eakermeld
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My switch acted like that just before it went up in smoke. Change it NOW or you may need a plug and some new harness, too. I know you new about the dimmer on the floor, right?

Old 11-26-2014, 09:26 PM
GreenMachinee
Senior User
Originally Posted by f100beatertruck
There's a switch on the floor behind the emergency brake. Just step on it to switch between high and low beams.
Originally Posted by eakermeld
My switch acted like that just before it went up in smoke. Change it NOW or you may need a plug and some new harness, too. I know you new about the dimmer on the floor, right?

Sadly i must admit, I did not know about the dimmer on the floor. I have noticed it and wondered what its function was. I guess thats the last place i would expect it to be. Thanks!

What do you mean right before it went up in smoke??

Old 11-26-2014, 09:41 PM
eakermeld
Posting Guru