1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Fi fender repair tutorial preview

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2014, 07:05 PM
clintonvillian
Laughing Gas
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
I am not disagreeing that I am not getting a proper weld. I have not experienced anything like this which is why I posed the question to an experienced professional welder such as yourself.

While I am not a professional welder, I have spent every weekend for the last 10 years or so doing it in my shop as a hobby. I have read your thread, not because I felt I needed to, but because I thought maybe there were some things in there I could pick up. Through trial and error, I have the best results with .030 wire and slight gap between my panels (Typically .045", the thickness of a cutoff wheel). The areas are prepped with a 50 grit bristle disc, and then edges knocked down with a 2" 80 grit flap disc.

Here you can see the initial ground down area after welding, this picture shows the pits (left from blasting, the P/O didn't have a clue), they are deep and the skin wavy the trucks skins are all a wavy mess. I am afraid to grind much more off or they will be thin. I figure a good coat of high build primer and they will even out. I will take care of the waviness through hammer dolly/slapper, and a shrinking disc.

Here is the outer skin of the opposite door, no issues................

And a close up of the same tack (the left one above) of the inner...............

Look just as the ones you posted above? No?

The only difference I can see, is the left door apparently had a thinner coat of primer? Didn't get as deep in the pits?

I am not sure what the answer is.............

Old 11-24-2014, 07:09 PM
clintonvillian
Laughing Gas
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts