Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Performance, Engines & Troubleshooting > Modular V8 (4.6L, 5.4L)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2014, 05:40 PM
New User

clevelandboxers is starting off with a positive reputation.
Lightbulb CHIRPING FROM UNDER THE HOOD

I have been searching for an answer from this site for (how to figure out)where a chirping sound is coming from underneath my engine hood.

I am not a mechanic and I do not often post on this site, but I think it was important to post this one time.

I parked my car one cold morning and when I started it up, it sounded like I had a chirping bird under somewhere under my hood. When the car warmed up, I noticed the chirping sound would lessen and often go away. I changed the serpentine belt, but the noise kept on. After reading various posts, I changed out the idler tension pulley and several drive pulleys (bearings, not the actual pulleys cause members gave me the correct bearing numbers to buy them and press them out). I then cleaned the serpentine belt and all the pulleys with brake cleaner and a soft Bissell brush, but noise was still there.

When I took off the serpentine belt to check the rest of the pulley's for wobble, I noticed my alternator was chirping also so I changed it thinking that the bearing was bad. Unfortunately, this slowed the problem, but did not fix it.