1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

1964 f100 project and y block

Old 11-16-2014, 08:50 PM
1964f-100
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1964 f100 project and y block

I recently bought a 64 f100 short bed that is in great shape. It is a numbers matching truck with the original 292 y block that supposedly was rebuilt 20 years ago and driven a few times before the original owner died. I'm waiting to get the gas tank back in the truck see if starts / runs.

I'm new to y blocks and I want something to go out and play with on the weekends, maybe hit a car show or two, not too concerned with daily driving.

Not looking for a full blown strip truck, just want something with some punch. I just don't want to be disappointed with a 292 build. Would I be better served with a 351w or big block?

I'm ready to get started on this project. The body is in great shape with no rust spots, only surface rust.

Any advice / tips would be helpful.

Pics to follow.

Thanks.

Old 11-16-2014, 08:56 PM
1964f-100
New User
Pics of new project:

Old 11-16-2014, 09:00 PM
Tedster9
Post Fiend
Received 66 Likes on 65 Posts
292 is pretty low compression and has a restrictive exhaust. But it runs fine on pump gas too. With some headers or dual exhaust they sound really sweet. If it were me I'd be inclined to keep it. With the right cam and a curved dizzy it should be just what you're looking for.

Old 11-16-2014, 10:27 PM
Shadowrider123
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
There isn't a low cost way to increase the 292's compression.

Since the lifters install from the bottom of the block, a cam change isn't easy.

Your best bet and best bank for the buck is a good tuneup, a set of ramhorn exhaust manifolds and dual exhaust, and a good 2v or 4v carb.

The 292 isn't going to make any decent power unless you invest a good chunk of change.