1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Fuel additive

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2014, 09:11 AM
farmert
Logistics Pro
Received 518 Likes on 252 Posts
Originally Posted by BBslider001
Just make sure it is TCW-3 rated, which is ashless. Yes, there are two different kinds. The stuff from Wal-Mart was in a lubricity test a few years back and fared really well, and its the cheapest alternative. Truth be told though, since the Low Sulfur craze a few years back, the oil companies have long since been adding a lubricity agent to diesel fuel and the issues have been eradicated for the most part. But, if it makes you feel better adding something to your fuel, then by all means. I have been running straight diesel for two years now and have had no issues with pumps, injectors, etc that everyone rants about.

Yes, it is a placebo effect. No one can tell me that they hear the difference in the sound of their injector pulse width or sound of the open and closing cycle or they have some hearing and sixth sense I wish I had. But again, if the extra $$ spent pouring Power Service in your tank makes you feel better, smooths out, and quiets down that 7.3....more power to you. I guess my question to myself is this. If something in a bottle that is a "lube agent" quiets down and smooths out my motor/injectors that much, then what's wrong with my injectors? Why does my truck run so much better? Something else must be amiss.
I agree with the oil companies adding lubricity to the fuels as i said in my first post on this subject. But as to the placebo effect, I could actually hear and feel the engine running smoother when I added the 2 stroke oil. Was it worn injectors or something else? Who knows.