Sponsored by: Moser

A few questions for those with Travel Trailers

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2014, 06:06 PM
F150&EB
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A few questions for those with Travel Trailers

I recently purchased my first travel trailer, a Starcraft AR-ONE MAXX 25BHS (dry weight ~5300lbs, GVWR: 7500lbs.) Today I towed it about 200 miles to my parents' place where my wife and I plan to keep it the majority of the time to use as a guest house. This is my first time towing with a WD hitch and electric trailer brakes. After this inaugural tow, I have some observations/questions:

Mileage: Holy smokes, 8 MPG? I was expecting 10+. I'm used to towing my '73 Bronco on a U-Haul trailer (comparable weight) and getting 10.5-11 MPG. Most of the driving was on interstates, running 65-70MPH. There was also a bit of a headwind as I was driving toward the TX coast. I had Tow/Haul mode engaged and had locked-out 6th gear. Probably could have locked 5th out too, because it rarely stayed there very long. I'm sure the 3.55 gears don't help, but I suspect the aerodynamics of the TT and the headwind were the main factors in my low mileage. How fast do you tow your TT? Is this the kind of towing mileage others are seeing with the 5.0?

Tires: I still have the original P275/65R18 Goodyears, and they seemed a bit...wallowy. I'm fairly confident I had the WD hitch setup properly, based on front wheel well measurements. The technician at the RV dealership who installed the hitch had it setup with a bit too much weight on the front axle. After 20 miles I pulled over and added another link to the WD bar chains. That helped the wallowing some. Would stepping-up to a load range C or E tire make a major difference in handling or is it negligible? What about increasing tire pressure on the existing P tires when towing?