1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing Capacity for F-250

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2014, 04:11 PM
Ltngdrvr
Lead Driver
Received 3,336 Likes on 1,762 Posts
Originally Posted by r2millers
And, here in Cal, if you tow a bumper pull over 10k, you must have a Class A commercial or non commercial license, 15k with a 5th wheel.

Many don't get the Class A but if stopped, the CHP gives you 15 minutes to get an appropriate driver or they tow it. Not good.
Maybe by California law but not by federal DOT law.

I tow for a living and up to 26K GCWR, you don't need a CDL. I have a DOT chart that they use to determine what kind of license needed and that is what it shows. Company gave the chart to all the drivers in case some cop or DOT guy doesn't know what they're talking about and tries to write one of us a ticket.

Old 10-10-2014, 04:55 PM
kd0axs
Cargo Master
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Ltngdrvr

I tow for a living and up to 26K GCWR, you don't need a CDL. I have a DOT chart that they use to determine what kind of license needed and that is what it shows. Company gave the chart to all the drivers in case some cop or DOT guy doesn't know what they're talking about and tries to write one of us a ticket.
Technically you could actually be up to 36K total (26K truck plus 10K trailer) before needing a CDL.

Sent from my HTC ONE using IB AutoGroup

Old 10-10-2014, 05:10 PM
jmtbiggin
Tuned
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by phillips91