1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

2000 Ranger Cruise Control Stopped Working. Troubleshooting Info/Schematics?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2014, 08:31 PM
Critterhunter
Mountain Pass
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2000 Ranger Cruise Control Stopped Working. Troubleshooting Info/Schematics?

I'm an HVAC diagnostic repair technician so don't go easy on me. Can troubleshoot anything out there provided I have at least a schematic of functional operation.

Unfortunately my Chiltons book has little more than a few things beyond check the break lights and if not that then tough luck. I need more than that to pursue this. If anybody has a schematic for the cruise control on a 2000 Ranger 3.0 2 wheel drive flareside supercab then please relay it.

Already popped the hardness at the module (passenger side engine compartment) and the two connectors on the master cylinder since I heard they can be related. No signs of varnish and re-plugging them in probably eliminated a bad connection. Just need more than that to troubleshoot deeper. Thanks.

Old 10-04-2014, 12:17 AM
Mikeman
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I assume your cruise is cable driven via vacuum diaphragm. Have you checked your vacuum lines from the manifold to the cruise? And made sure there's no binding in the cable? If my memory is correct, drive by wire didn't happen on Explorers until about 4 or 5 years later.

If your Ranger is like my Explorer, one set of brake pedal position switch contacts is used for the brake lights and another set is used as an input to the PCM. Just because your brakes work, doesn't mean your PCM is seeing the same brake pedal position. Even without a schematic, you might be able to trace the wires and figure out if the contacts are closed/open when they should be.