1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

78 Ford F100 Cranks, won't start- at my wit's end!

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2014, 07:53 PM
ivegotahammer
New User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
78 Ford F100 Cranks, won't start- at my wit's end!

I am a newbie in Durham NC.
I have been reading every thread I could find pertaining to my issue and have had no luck, so I'm posting.

78 F100 351 5.8 Duraspark.

I have ruled out no gas- plenty of fuel at the carb, filter new, fills up a water bottle quickly when hose disconnected and ignition key on.

I have had two mechanically inclined friends helping me. It seems like we have checked everything that relates to spark.

Ignition coil- good
Spark at plugs- yes
Cap and rotor- new
Duraspark unit- new
Plug wires- less than a year old, tested with ohmmeter and seem fine
Plugs- a little dark and oily, but not gummed up or so bad that they would cause a no start situation.

Electrical- Battery, alt, voltage regulator less than a year old.

I have read some about the pickup coil being a possible culprit- anybody have an opinion on this?

It has been driving seemingly fine until recently- some backfiring and hesitation when first driving in the mornings.

Somewhat suddenly, it took multiple attempts to start after I drove it 30 minutes and then it sat 30 minutes.

The next day more of the same after a 30 minute drive and then a short rest, except that it would just stall out after starting. Start up, stall out, repeat multiple times over a few blocks.