2003 f150 - blower motor stopped working all of a sudden

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2014, 12:34 AM
Toneblair
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 f150 - blower motor stopped working all of a sudden

I'm new to the forum, so I'm probably gonna sound very stupid, but that's ok with me!

I've read quite a few threads on this subject and came across the resistor, fuses, and relays.

I have some fundamental testing procedure questions.
I'm an Appliance tech, so I know how to use a meter, but Dumb question number.....

1. To test the resistor, it says to back probe the brown/orange wire to check for voltage. So I'm assuming I would hook up my positive lead, here?
Do I really need to hook up the black lead all the way to the negative terminal on the battery? Just with a long extension? Or is there somewhere else I can hook the black lead to? (I know, how dumb!)

2. I downloaded owners manual, but I can't seem to find a fuse or relay specifically for the blower, so what fuse and what relay is it?

3. In the Haynes manual, it says locate the blower motor relay, in the relay box under the center dash panel, where the hell is that?

4. Do I need to remove the glove box to access the resistor and blower hosting (shoulda been my first question I guess)

5. Anything else I should know?

Old 09-25-2014, 12:44 PM
Rusty_S
Lead Driver
Received 90 Likes on 79 Posts
Quick way of testing is to turn your blower on all speeds. If it works on no low speeds but it works on high then most likely your resistor is bad. If it doesnt work at any speed then theres a few things it could be. Could be a fuse, could be a bad blower motor, could be the blower switch.