How hard is it to replace the a/c hose?

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2003, 09:48 PM
propellerhead
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The hose going from the accumulator to the compressor in my 94 Explorer is all greasy. The technician at Meineke said it was probably leaking, which would explain why my a/c isn't as cold as it used to be. I had the freon recharged two years ago but now it's back to blowing not-so-cold air.

Replacing the hose would cost around $450. Ouch! $275 for the hose + $100 for labor + $75 for the R134 extract & recharge.

How hard would it be to replace it myself?

I'm no expert but I've replaced a fuel filter using that special coupling remover tool, replaced brake shoes/pads and shocks. Just basic stuff, really. I saw an a/c hose assembly listed on autozone.com for $120. Is that all I need? Will I need additional parts?

Do I need to bleed out whatever is left of the R134? How many cans of R134 would it take to refill it? About $5 a can?

Can someone who has done this share the experience?

Thanks!

Old 07-15-2003, 08:04 AM
94van
Posting Guru

That hose price sounds high. Go to http://www.ackits.com and see if they list it.

You'll have to have the refrigerant recovered before you start replacing the hose.

Check all your other connections for leakage, and if any are found, repair them or replace the o-rings as necessary with new ones. Have the system leak checked, evacuated and refilled.

Last edited by 94van; 07-15-2003 at 08:32 AM.
Old 07-15-2003, 01:00 PM
propellerhead
Senior User

You make it sound so simple. What about recharging the R134? Is it like connecting a few hoses and opening a valve until the can empties out?

Old 07-15-2003, 02:24 PM
94van
Posting Guru

Originally posted by propellerhead
You make it sound so simple. What about recharging the R134? Is it like connecting a few hoses and opening a valve until the can empties out?