1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

I am trying to understand HO/ Torque pulling?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2014, 05:41 PM
Realslowww
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
I am trying to understand HO/ Torque pulling?

I have a ? for you guys who have gone diesel after owning the big gas motors for pulling. I am not looking for a argument just want to understand how HP relates to torque in the real world and so forth for pulling heavy weight.

How much better did you Power Stroke same HP for same HP compared to the Big CUBIC INCH gassers you have had pull a load and get up to speed on hills and so forth with little fuss and less shifting compared to your gas trucks when all was comparably geared correctly and how much easier was it to drive because of this when heavily loaded.

I ask because HP can really be kinda hard to understand and I have no experience with this in the real world pulling heavy loads.

People always throw the HP formula out their and say on paper with the right gearing a RPM spinner gasser can compete with a diesel and it's like you can't tell the difference but something tells me this is really wrong when I see a 300 HP Semi pulling 80 grand and in no way could a 300 HP Gas engine do that no matter the gearing or could it?

Thanks for the info.

Old 09-19-2014, 07:55 PM
Shake-N-Bake
Post Fiend

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Originally Posted by Realslowww
I have a ? for you guys who have gone diesel after owning the big gas motors for pulling. I am not looking for a argument just want to understand how HP relates to torque in the real world and so forth for pulling heavy weight.