6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

another crank no statrt

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2014, 10:55 AM
AllaboutMPG
Logistics Pro
Received 109 Likes on 69 Posts
I'm no expert and don't pretend to understand computer programming for these trucks but it would seem that on initial start you would see full command to the closed position for the IPR to build pressure as fast as you can during cranking. Then maybe the PCM starts to back off the voltage once it sees enough ICP for starting. If your IPR is bad or stuck full open and never closes it would explain low press and max voltage during cranking.

The meter readings are a little confusing. 50 ohms which is what your seeing on the 200 scale should read 0.05k on the 20k scale. I would check the readings again. Is your meter digital, does it auto range and maybe you missed the k or m after the reading?

Old 09-14-2014, 11:26 AM
f350project
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by AllaboutMPG
I'm no expert and don't pretend to understand computer programming for these trucks but it would seem that on initial start you would see full command to the closed position for the IPR to build pressure as fast as you can during cranking. Then maybe the PCM starts to back off the voltage once it sees enough ICP for starting. If your IPR is bad or stuck full open and never closes it would explain low press and max voltage during cranking.

The meter readings are a little confusing. 50 ohms which is what your seeing on the 200 scale should read 0.05k on the 20k scale. I would check the readings again. Is your meter digital, does it auto range and maybe you missed the k or m after the reading?
I guess I could see it both ways with 0v or 12v but then you can't apply the 12v for testing without burning up the coils.
Wish I had another 6.0L to verify that.