1996 5.0 desirability

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2014, 09:51 AM
The other Joe
Tuned
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
1996 5.0 desirability

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the obs Ford truck scene. So I have been learning the ins and outs of the obs. I own 2. A 97 powerstroke ec long bed with 5 speed manual. And my wife is driving a nice 94 f150 4x4 with a great straight 6 and also a 5 speed trans.

My question is,

Why no interest in a nice running engine with 139 k miles?

I have advertised it locally and on this site and haven't even received 1 inquiry.

Are these unwanted engines?
I figured it would be a great engine for a hot rod or just a replacement for a tired truck.

I know it's a strange question.
I'm a strange person.

Thanks,

joe

Old 09-11-2014, 01:47 PM
Beechkid
Received 207 Likes on 159 Posts
IMHO...The 5.0 has been and is a good engine for 40 years......those in the truck crowd typically look for larger displacement and the 5.0's are very common/available locally so that may be a better option for you.

Old 09-11-2014, 02:35 PM
The other Joe
Tuned
Originally Posted by Beechkid
IMHO...The 5.0 has been and is a good engine for 40 years......those in the truck crowd typically look for larger displacement and the 5.0's are very common/available locally so that may be a better option for you.

Thanks Beechkid,

I always thought the old 289 and 302 were good workhorse engines. But never really messed with them to often. Makes sense the truck guys want something bigger. I love my old powerstroke.

I guess I will keep plugging away locally. I can't stand the thought of junking a good working engine and transmission. This is a od auto trans.

Just seems strange not to get a single call.

Thanks,

Joe W.

Old 09-11-2014, 03:07 PM
Conanski
FTE Legend
Received 957 Likes on 758 Posts