Sponsored by:

A little more specific noob questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2014, 12:41 PM
TXpitdog
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A little more specific noob questions

I'm going to add my questions here as I look at Excursions and learn more about them. One good thing about being in Houston, TX is that diesel Super Duty's are very popular and there are plenty to choose from. I am primarily interested in a 2003 stock 4x4 7.3L 3.73 with the captain seats in the middle and less than 100k miles. It'll take some looking but I am patient!

Looked at an 04 6.0L 4x4 w/ 85000 at lunch today. It was an auction vehicle, original dealer was in Utah. I'm not experienced with what an undercarriage coating looks like that dealers try to sell folks, but this one looked like the wheel wells, springs, shocks, driveshaft, and rear differential had bed liner sprayed on. I shoulda taken a picture but I wasn't serious about the truck anyway...still, does that sound like a true dealer undercoating or does it sound like someone was trying to hide rust? The exhaust, muffler, and brackets were all mildly rusted but not bad.

Second, it had been started and was warm when I got there. When I cranked it over it started easily, but there was a brief 1-2 second period where the RPM's were very low then came up to proper idle. Is that a sign of anything specific or is that common? Exhaust had no smoke.

Third, A/C never got cold on the test drive and first press of the gas pedal didn't immediately rev the engine. It didn't repeat the problem, but what would hesitation imply? Injector issues?

I really only went to look at this truck to make sure the Excursion isn't too big for what we want. This truck had enough red flags that I wouldn't buy it, but it was a good introductory lesson.

I watched the powerstrokehelp guy on YouTube and am more comfortable about what to look for when I go look at others. Thanks

Old 09-10-2014, 02:28 PM
Krazee Matt
Logistics Pro