Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Could I be cooking my carrier?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2014, 08:55 AM
Tugly
Hotshot
Received 111 Likes on 66 Posts
Could I be cooking my carrier?

I've had a lot of work done to Stinky's running gear since May, and I'm still in the throes of chasing down the last vibration in him. I've paid particular attention to the driveline, pulling it and having it spun in the shop more than once. I've tried the carrier bearing shim, but it only exacerbated the vibration. I recently checked the temperature again, and I spotted something I don't remember seeing before. While aiming the sensor directly at the bearing, I got a reading of 150 degrees F. I grabbed the driveline next to the bearing, and it was hot to the touch.

As I mentioned, I don't remember this much heat before - but my memory is feeble. Has anybody else checked their driveline for heat near/at the carrier bearing?

Old 09-09-2014, 09:38 AM
clux
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Tugly
I've had a lot of work done to Stinky's running gear since May, and I'm still in the throes of chasing down the last vibration in him. I've paid particular attention to the driveline, pulling it and having it spun in the shop more than once. I've tried the carrier bearing shim, but it only exacerbated the vibration. I recently checked the temperature again, and I spotted something I don't remember seeing before. While aiming the sensor directly at the bearing, I got a reading of 150 degrees F. I grabbed the driveline next to the bearing, and it was hot to the touch.

As I mentioned, I don't remember this much heat before - but my memory is feeble. Has anybody else checked their driveline for heat near/at the carrier bearing?
I don't recall mine being that warm when I was chasing a dirveline vibration that turned out to be the carrier bearing.

Old 09-09-2014, 10:48 AM
JOHN2001
Logistics Pro
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts