1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Wire/ Firing Order

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2014, 10:21 AM
garagemuscle
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wire/ Firing Order

Hello everyone, I appreciate and respect the knowledge I've read here on this website. My name is Ryan ( Detroit, Michigan ) I'm new to owning a classic truck and have just picked up a 1965 Ford F-250 with a 429 bb v8 under the hood.

Recently I've experienced some backfire when I ref the engine in park. I've just recently performed a tune-up,on the engine replacing wires and plugs. However I'd like to confirm the proper firing order and placement of the wires.

Can anybody help me out please? I'd appreciate the feed back.

Old 08-24-2014, 11:56 AM
TigerDan
Hotshot
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Hi and welcome!

This should answer your question:

For routing the wires it's always been recommended to route 7 and 8 away from each other so there's no risk of crossfire between them since they're next to each other in the firing order. I'm not sure how relevant this advice is these days with higher quality wires, but it can't hurt. Also, try running the engine at night in a totally dark place and looking for any flashes of light under the hood from arcing.

Old 08-24-2014, 12:20 PM
garagemuscle
New User
thanks tigerdan, I'll observe the wiring graph, make corrections if needed then fire the engine up and listen...

Now, the exhaust piping is removed from the muffler back to the tailpipe, will this have any pull with the backfiring I'm experiencing ? I personally don't think so because it wasn't an issue before...however, I could be wrong.

Old 08-24-2014, 09:33 PM
garagemuscle
New User
if the diagram above is the correct wiring order for my FORD 429 BB V8 , then the wiring under my hood now doesn't even come close to that order...

I placed the number ( 3) on the plug I'm assuming is the third wire...then working my way counter clockwise around the carburetor.