1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Header/starter clearance?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2014, 12:51 AM
tartar_sammich
Freshman User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Header/starter clearance?

I bought some Patriot specific fit headers from jegs. I'm not experienced at all in installing headers, but with my version of a test fit, the collector will not move past the starter. If I take the starter off and move the headers in, will I be able to re install the starter? Or should I just get a mini starter? The vehicle is a 1965 F250 Camper Special.

Old 08-11-2014, 05:44 AM
jowilker
Fleet Owner

Received 46 Likes on 44 Posts
I have Hooker long tubes on my 66 FE, the header has to be loosened to allow the starter to be moved.

A starter blanket can be used or the mini as an alternative.

John

Old 08-11-2014, 08:59 AM
Mattrod68
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i have the same headers. the header needs to be in place but not bolted up, then install starter, then install header.

no starter blanket needed......wait, you did get the ceramic ones right?

Old 08-11-2014, 11:27 AM
tartar_sammich
Freshman User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Mattrod68
i have the same headers. the header needs to be in place but not bolted up, then install starter, then install header.

no starter blanket needed......wait, you did get the ceramic ones right?
Yes I got the ceramic ones.

Old 01-21-2015, 02:43 AM
scurrytom
New User
Hi guys,
I'm new to the site, finally joining after reading some great advice on this site. Hopefully OK posting on this same thread...