1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

"High Voltage" Theft Deterent?

Old 07-27-2014, 04:38 PM
Royson12
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
"High Voltage" Theft Deterent?

Ok, I'll run this down for ya! I travel out of town from time to time for work. I am an industrial electrician. Over the last couple of years, I have been relieved of several tools, leads off of my welder, ice chests, tailgater BBQ's, ect... from the back of my truck. The latest, on my way to Williston, ND. In a stop over in Salina, Ks. Some a#@hole stole my beer out of my ice chest! 2 - 5 gallon diesel jugs(full) out of the back of my truck. While I was getting my beauty sleep. Now, here in ND, some other yahoo, relieved me of my tailgate BBQ grill. I'm getting pretty sour about it. That's the why, here is what I want to do! I want to put an alarm on my truck, but since I stay in hotels, and would not be able to get to my truck in time, if someone tried violating me again. I want to wire a relay in place of the siren, to run an electric fence charger hooked to my truck. Hidden of course. Idea is, that once armed. A yahoo sticks his body in my truck to get something, instead of a siren, it activates the relay, which in turn, powers up the fencer.. Teaching some unsuspecting yahoo acrobatics! And, no I don't care if they hurt themselves, if anybody is wondering. My question is, will the fencer High Voltage running through the metal parts on my truck harm any of the electronics? I am an electrician, and in my mind, it wouldn't, being the fencer is seeking a different ground. I will install a ground clamp in my grill that, I can put to a light pole, ground rod ect.. What do you guys think?

Old 07-27-2014, 05:22 PM
MOOSE_MACHINE
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts