6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Damage From Lightning Strike

Old 07-10-2014, 05:42 PM
Hostel17
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Damage From Lightning Strike

Hi all. I am new to the Ford Trucks forum (1st post) but I've read through here plenty in the past. If this is the wrong place for this question, please feel free to move it.

My 6.7L 2012 F250 XLT suffered some electronic damage last weekend when lightning struck a nearby tree. The PCM, DEF sensor, and at least 5 other sensors were damaged and the truck would not start.

The truck was about 30 feet from the tree, so it was not a direct strike. No external damage whatsover. My uncle's RV was located about 10 feet further away from the tree, past my truck and he had damaged electronics as well. I have read that the electromagnetic effects of lightning can damage electronics without electrical current similar to an EMP, but since I couldn't see the truck during the strike (I was only about 50 feet away, but the RV blocked my view. Loudest sound ever. Louder than artillery) I can't know for sure that it wasn't "ground current" as the charge spread from the tree across the ground and potentially arched through the truck.

I've got insurance handling it and hopefully we will be up and running soon. My question is: what kind of issues am I looking at down the road? Am I at heightened risk of electronics failure in the future? If so, is it likely to occur soon (when insurance would probably agree it is connected to the strike) or will I be dealing with this 5 years from now? I love this truck like a pet (it was my deployment gift to myself), but I need to know whether this is worth seeing through or if I should be looking to trade it in at a substantial loss. I know lightning damage isn't a common occurrence, but surely others have had overloaded systems from power lines or faulty wiring - any ideas?