1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Newbie's First Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2014, 01:57 PM
littlegram
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie's First Question

Hi,

I have been reading these forums for a month now soaking up info. I recently bought a '55 F100 and have begun planning and gathering tools. I started body work and such. I am completely new to every aspect of car/truck restoration and want to learn as I go. So far I have flushed the radiator and put in a new thermostat, which is very minor but not to me. It has the original 223 which runs and drives - leaks a bit of oil. I am not building a show truck but want something that I can drive and looks nice. Truck is straight with minor dings and minor surface rust - one cab corner has a small bit of cancer. Other than that is it very solid. I created a gallery if you want to take a look.

Here is my first question: has anyone put a 302 and the 3 speed tranny from a '76 Granada, or similar year, in a '55 f100? My truck is a 5 speed manual and I want to keep it manual but have a more powerful motor. I could spend 3K+ on a crate motor but would rather save money. (a friend told me this is a "smogger" engine and may have only 200hp, so I am uncertain if this is a good choice)

Anything else I could pull from a '76 Granada?

Great forum and I hope to continue learning!

Old 07-05-2014, 02:28 PM
underthebridgejim
FTE fan
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts