6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

How Much Time is Needed to: Change Oil Cooler, Change ERG Cooler, Blue Spring Modification?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2014, 06:32 AM
Bordeauxman
Freshman User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
How Much Time is Needed to: Change Oil Cooler, Change ERG Cooler, Blue Spring Modification?

For an experienced mechanic, roughly how much time would be needed to

1) change the oil cooler
2) change the EGR cooler
3) blue spring upgrade
4) clean turbo

It is a long story but I'm trying to figure out if this should be 10 hours of work or 30 hours of work. I've never done it before but I was thinking of hiring a mechanic to help me do this on weekends and I'm trying to budget time.

Thank you in advance!

Old 07-01-2014, 07:21 AM
mustang_309
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Bordeauxman

1) change the oil cooler
2) change the EGR cooler
3) blue spring upgrade
4) clean turbo

It is a long story but I'm trying to figure out if this should be 10 hours of work or 30 hours of work. I've never done it before but I was thinking of hiring a mechanic to help me do this on weekends and I'm trying to budget time.

Thank you in advance!
If you are mechanically inclined you should be able to knock this out over the weekend. Go to YouTube and look up srmastertech and dieseltechron and watch their videos before digging in.

Old 07-01-2014, 09:29 AM
Paulsf350sdcc
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I would hire the mechanic. It was a huge, tiring job, but still doable. Of course I did the HPOP, ICP, and IPR, and a new exhaust also.

Old 07-01-2014, 09:46 AM
ultrasks700
Tuned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I would say if your confident in your mechanical abilities...budget at least 20 hours. But always except the unexcepted...

Old 07-01-2014, 01:30 PM
catalinaflyer
Senior User
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts