Sponsored by: Moser

Dads "Big Truck" rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2014, 01:30 AM
Brijuana
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dads "Big Truck" rebuild

So after many years of coveting, I finally talked my dad into selling me his 76 F250. He bought it in early 77 so we have had it nearly its whole life and when I was young nicknamed it "The Big Truck". As a contractor my dad used it pretty hard and as such it will be a very long project, but as of now I want to attempt to get it to near factory condition (minus the nearly new rebuilt 390 and probably updated wheels and maybe a few other odds and ends).

I'm sure that I will have many question through out the course of this process but to start i'm having a hard time figuring out what color it is. Its a rather plain brown, but the paint code is missing on the data plate any ideas why it wouldn't be stamped? Also i have a bed from a 77 that is in far better shape then the one presently on it, is it possible to move it from one truck to the other? i know the frame rails are different widths but i cant help but think it wouldn't be terribly hard to drill new holes and call it good..

I'll be posting some pictures soon, and thanks in advance for any help or suggestions anyone wants to throw out in advance.

Old 06-15-2014, 03:46 AM
trozei
Postmaster
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
As far as I'm aware, the frame rails are only different widths for the 4x4 and 2WD models, but it is definitely a doable project. It's simply a matter of bolting the donor box on your truck.

Pictures of your warranty plate on the door would be nice, as well as a good photo representing the colour of the truck. We don't often need the paint code to be able to tell you the name of the colour.

Old 06-15-2014, 07:34 AM
mikeo0o0o0
Hotshot
Received 203 Likes on 161 Posts
Originally Posted by Brijuana
Its a rather plain brown, but the paint code is missing on the data plate any ideas why it wouldn't be stamped?