Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Distributor fail... and threw a rod??

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2014, 11:31 PM
EWelsch
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Distributor fail... and threw a rod??

Heya everyone - newbie here.
Running with a 1996 F250, 7.5L Manual, super-cab short-bed 178,000 miles.

Rewind a week - original distributor burns up with some telltale signs before it went - misfiring and loss of power. So I drop a new distributor in and re-time the ignition. No problem - everything is running well!

Rewind to last night - Accelerating hard when engine dies extremely quickly. (3500 RPM to 0 in less than a second) Engine will not restart and I immediately suspect the new distributor. After a tow and a day of trouble shooting wiring, coils, ICM, plugs, leads and connectors - the new distributor is the culprit. So, a 2nd new distributor is dropped in. Engine fires right up... however there is a problem. The engine now has a severe knocking noise coming from the #1 cylinder. I pulled the #1 spark plug and ran the engine again for a second - the knocking noise got far louder.

My suspicion is that the sudden loss of ignition brought the engine to a stop so rapidly that a connecting rod or bearing was severely damaged. Any thoughts? Or do i have myself a parts truck?

Old 05-15-2014, 11:40 PM
Truck Guy99
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Any smoke? Rough idle? Shaking?

Old 05-15-2014, 11:47 PM
EWelsch
New User
No Smoke... Idles a tiny bit rough, but nothing out of the ordinary. As far as shaking goes, nothing unusual. This is all from running it for less than a minute though. (since repair)

Old 05-16-2014, 02:08 AM
Lead Head
Lead Driver
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts