Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

First time ever replacing a water pump.. help please

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2014, 06:07 PM
mozzles
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time ever replacing a water pump.. help please

Hi guys, if you read my previous thread then FYI I decided to keep the truck and replace the water pump myself. This is my first time ever doing this, with any vehicle, so some help would be appreciated.

First off, does it matter which brand I buy, and whether it is new or remanufactured? Do they come with a gasket or do I need to buy one? What kind of sealant will I want to buy for the gasket and for any bolts I will be replacing?

I found this walkthrough write-up on the AutoZone site, do I want to follow this "to a T"? Under the "diesel engines" section at the bottom, of course. | Repair Guides | Engine Mechanical | Water Pump | AutoZone.com

My truck doesn't have A/C, so I won't worry about that part. But other than that just making sure that I need to take off the power steering, vacuum pump, and alternator belts... as well as the water pump pulley.

After that, it seems like it's pretty straight-forward enough for me to do this. I know about making sure the right length bolts go back where they were, I'm guessing the pump will come with new bolts so I just match up the lengths to the ones that were in there and I'll be good?

In these instructions, I don't see anything about removing the fan clutch, the part that I need to rent a tool for.. is there a reason why they left this out? I'm not even sure what a fan clutch is, so I'm hoping this is self-explanatory once I look at it. Do I need to completely remove the fan as well?

Any other tips would be appreciated, or if anyone has a link to a DETAILED walkthrough for this. Again, I am a beginner... I have always done my own repairs but that has been fairly limited.

Zac

Old 08-18-2014, 08:14 PM
Macrobb
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts