1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

First post! buying a 7.3L V8 PSD E-350 HELP!

Old 05-04-2014, 12:23 PM
evy
Trailering
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First post! buying a 7.3L V8 PSD E-350 HELP!

Hi everybody! This is my very first post!

Here goes, I'm looking for an extended E-series van to start a DIY campervan conversion project, my plans are almost final I just have to find the vehicle to get the ball rolling.

At first I was thinking something recent like a 2011 model or maybe 2009 at worst but I just came across this thing and I wanted to get your expert's opinion on the subject before going forward.

For sale is a 2001 Ford E-350 V8 7.3L power stroke turbo diesel with 130 000miles on it (230 000km) + raised roof is already installed (worth 3000$) + crew cab + rear A/C + little bit of rust starting to show on bottom side panels + seams to run ok (I'm no expert).
The seller is asking 4500$ but I think we have room for negotiations.

I bought the carproof (carfax equivalent in Canada) and It's all good, no accidents or insurance claims and odometer numbers seems to bee good too.

BUT!! Here's the problem...

I can't seem to find anyone or any garage to inspect the darn thing!! I've called over a dozen of garages in the seller's area but as soon as I mention Diesel they hang up.

Even the closest Ford dealer as stopped doing pre-sale inspections (for legal problems)
Still I can have it inspected at their garage but as my own vehicle (not pre-sale + no warranty)
they charge 150$ for 130 or 170 points inspection, engine compression test is not included.

After reading a bit on the net about these engines, I found a lot of good things about the 7.3L, very reliable and lots of torque. also heard about a 16mpg average (city+hwy).
Correct me if I'm wrong but the major problem comes from engine cavitation and also the transmission. Will the dealer's inspection detect any of these things?