Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

2005 Explorer trany problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2014, 06:14 PM
KDAVID1
Logistics Pro
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2005 Explorer trany problem

Left work today and it would not shift out of second gear. Got home and it would not go into reverse either. Vehicle has 121, 000 miles on it. Also got a message on the info center saying check transmission-duh-so what do I need to look at? Fluid filter replace, replace shift solenoid, or is the trans toast. Any help greatly appreciated

Old 04-10-2014, 11:17 PM
shorod
Logistics Pro
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
I'm not a transmission expert, but your symptoms seem pretty consistent with a shift solenoid issue. That seems like the place to start, changing the fluid and filter at the same time. With that mileage on the truck it would probably be worth the extra 30 minutes to check the condition of the the bores that are known to wear out.

-Rod

Old 04-11-2014, 10:29 AM
KDAVID1
Logistics Pro
Yep looks to be what I can find on researching as well.
I just don't want to have to tear into the whole thing as I am crunched for time (this is my wife's ride)

Old 04-11-2014, 11:08 PM
KhanTyranitar
Postmaster
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Considering the trans should be on its 4th fluid change and it probably is only on its first or second, Id say it is probably a wear issue. The bores are known to wear, but they are enabled to wear by friction material in the fluid, which builds up if the fluid is not changed regularly.

Old 04-14-2014, 03:10 PM
KDAVID1
Logistics Pro