1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Radiator woes continue

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2014, 06:21 PM
Wayne Waldrep
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well let me try to catch up on a few replies. I'm on my phone and can't see my Sig but it should say 239 Flathead....I think...lol. Anyway running that and a factory radiator. When I got the truck it had the wrong cap on it and when I posted on here I was told DO NOT put a higher pressure cap for any reason so that suggestion confuses me. It is my first inclination to up the pressure but I'd have to look back and find the discussion on it. Also to answer you Jim, I've been driving it for two years with this leaking. It leaks until it can't anymore I guess. Yesterday all I did was fill the radiator and started the engine....it never gulped coolant into the block like most modern engines do. Normally when I remove a radiator then put it back in I fill the radiator and wait till the thermostat opens and draws coolant into the engine. At that point I finish filling the system. So this one was a little different. I'm going to NAPA in the morning to check the cap and the pressure at the radiator neck.

Old 04-08-2014, 07:10 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts
You for sure don't want the cooling system pressure to exceed 4 psi, or you risk ballooning the top tank or splitting a seam. Ask me how I know...

I usually run the engine up to temperature on a fresh fill with the cap just loose in the neck. It may burp and the cap will keep most of the water from spewing out, but let out the air.

As noted in a different thread about adding a recovery tank, flat V8 cooling system capacity is 22 qts, and it expands almost 5% from 70 deg. to 180 deg. That is more than a quart. You have to leave plenty of room in the tank for expansion.

Did you measure your filler neck and the cap?

Old 04-08-2014, 08:00 PM
Wayne Waldrep
Elder User