6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

New 6.7 and About to Take Long Trip

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2014, 08:34 PM
tcreek
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New 6.7 and About to Take Long Trip

I have a 2014 F350 DRW with the 6.7. In June I'll be taking it from Fairbanks Alaska to Seattle to pick up a 36 foot 5th wheel trailer. Since I have little experience with driving a diesel, I would like some advice on what spare parts (ie fuel filter, etc) I should carry with me. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Old 03-31-2014, 09:24 PM
jonrjen
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Take a jug of DEF, an extra fuel filter, a clear glass jar for draining fuel into checking for water in the filter. Read the owners manual and keep it with the truck. Locate and keep in the truck the 1-800 Ford Roadside Assistance card. Now go have a good trip and don't worry it will be a fun trip.

Old 03-31-2014, 09:32 PM
tcreek
Junior User
Originally Posted by jonrjen
Take a jug of DEF, an extra fuel filter, a clear glass jar for draining fuel into checking for water in the filter. Read the owners manual and keep it with the truck. Locate and keep in the truck the 1-800 Ford Roadside Assistance card. Now go have a good trip and don't worry it will be a fun trip.
Thanks. I've read thru the manual (before and after getting the truck). So much info that I can't remember it all.

Tom

Old 04-01-2014, 05:13 AM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,416 Likes on 1,011 Posts
Yes, extra fuel and oil filters and 5 gal of def. If you go to ford and buy their fill spout I know it will work on the wally world blue def 2.5 gal jugs.

Using the ford fill spout you cannot over fill and there are zero drips.

Just rinse the fill spout with water when finished to preserve it.

Also take along a jack in case you get a flat on the 5er, tire guage capable of 80 psi.