1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

OT i got a new job!

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2014, 06:41 PM
Gicknordon
Fleet Mechanic
Received 70 Likes on 36 Posts
OT i got a new job!

The past few summers i have worked for my dad. This past summer i really felt like i didnt belong there. He had me operating equipment more than i was in the shop, and i didnt feel like i was a good enough operator to be doing what i was doing. I started to feel like i was there because i was the bosses kid. Well ths summer that will change. Just today i had an interview with mack trucks and was offered a summer internship with one of the engineering departments. Im really excited about this. I applied for a bunch of internships, and this was the one i wanted the most. And ill be making a good amount of money. The only downside is that its a 50 min drive from my house, so ill be commuting almost two hours everyday. Ill probably get tired of it, but i couldnt turn down this offer!

Old 02-19-2014, 06:57 PM
Wayne Waldrep
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Congrats on the job. Sounds great to me. I've been unemployed for a long time now and decent jobs are hard to come by. I've also driven that far to work....after a while you don't even notice it. Gives you some thinking/praying/music time. Good luck!

Old 02-19-2014, 07:00 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 607 Likes on 377 Posts
Congrats! Internships are THE way to get the foot in the door, don't waste the opportunity! Mack is a heads-up company too, lots of potential there.

Old 02-19-2014, 07:08 PM
CharlieLed
Lead Driver
Received 465 Likes on 301 Posts