Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Deciding Shop Layout with Sketchup

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2014, 10:44 AM
ISurvivedNMU
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Deciding Shop Layout with Sketchup

I have been going through this tutorial and video class on Sketchup on Workshop Addict trying to get an idea on where to put a lift and cabinets.

I am just learning sketchup, so it is not that great yet, but this seems to be a great way to design something and get a feel for space and how things will look.

Are any of you guys into Sketchup?

Old 01-31-2014, 03:25 AM
77&79F250
Moderator & parts seller
Received 3,286 Likes on 2,442 Posts
No that is to new fangled for me, my shop layout is truck is able to be all the way inside and out of the elements with the roll up garage door closed. And still get in and out the walk in door, easy access to 30 ft worth of work bench.

Be able to have both doors open and move around it out turning sideways to get by either door edge, have room around the front end to roll a tool cart, pull fender and tires with no issues.

I have a 30Dx40L shop, with a 12x40 lean too on the back. An enclosed concreted 30DX20L bay with walk in and roll up door. It has a 30' long work bench down the far end with lots old house cabinets with the doors off (cheap set up that works) and shelves underneath and in a 10' work bench to ceiling shelves set up in the middle.

And a another 3x5 work bench, 4x3 welding table along the back wall, more shelves, all together 4 windows and a 10 ceiling to be easily heated.

Have a HD open corner place to mount your vice you can get anything into it.

220 60 gal air compressor is outside of shop in back of the middle bay 10x10 storage room and I soft line the air in to the shop. That compressor is a loud one, so keep that in mind.