1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Another Truck Died and Won't Start Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2014, 06:03 PM
terrylamar
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another Truck Died and Won't Start Thread

I ran to the store late last night and on the way back my truck died, but immediately start running again and seconds later died and wouldn't start. The Check Engine Light did come on. The Wait to Start Light comes on. It cranks, or did last night, strongly. It has "hiccupped" before, over the course of a month or so. I am a truck driver, so the month's time is little actual driving time.

Lately, with the cold, it has been hard to start. I think that is a bad battery and the cold. I started putting a trickle charge on the battery while I am away or overnight and it starts right up. I have plugged in the Engine Block Heater and I hear it sizzling?

I put a trickle charge on it earlier today, but I am too impatient and try to crank it to see if the tachometer is moving. I guess I could speed up things by jumping it with my big truck, but what a pain that is.

After reading numerous other similar accounts of the same symptoms, I am guessing it is my CAM Position Sensor (CPS.)

I found this:

The All New Improved CAM Position Sensor (CPS) for 7.3L Ford Powerstroke
•If you own a 7.3L Powerstroke, you may already be aware of the shortcomings of the stock Cam Position Sensor (CPS). It is common for the CPS to fail causing the engine to run poorly or to stop running altogether and it usually happens at the most inconvenient times, such as in traffic or pulling a load so many owners carry a spare CPS.
•This International Harvester CPS can be installed in the Powerstroke engine and will make the engine run quieter, smoother while increasing performance and mileage!
•Provides a different signal (changes timing from standard CPS) to the Ford computer which results in a more accurate injection of fuel and better running engine with easier starts!