Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

460 vs 7.3 turbo diesel

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2014, 04:20 PM
WCSf350
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
460 vs 7.3 turbo diesel

Ok, so my trusty 96 f150 finally died last month and I had to replace it quickly. I purchased a 1997 f350 cab and chassis with a 12 foot box on it with only 70xxx miles on it. It has a 460 gas motor, e4od trans and f5 (4:10) rear axle. I'm a contractor and I pull a 7k lb trailer plus materials in the 12 foot box (worst case loading). I get 5.5 to 8 mpg depending upon load and towing. I've been looking at a 97 f450 7.3 turbo diesel 5 speed to get instead because I was thinking the diesel would get better mpg. However, the f450 has a 4:88 rear and everything I've read says the mpg won't be much better than I'm getting now. Plus, the f450 has 199xxx miles on it, which I know is not a lot for the engine, but is for the rest of the vehicle. With me being in a vehicle with such low miles, and with diesel fuel being so much more expensive than gas, I'd need to consistently get 15+ mpg to make a vehicle switch make sense. I really don't need a diesel as I don't tow excessive weight, I'm just looking to save $$ at the pump. That said, I like the z-f5 trans way better than the e4od for longevity.I guess I'm trying to see if I should just stay put in the truck I have and try to make some mpg improving upgrades or look for something else...maybe an f350 diesel with a 5 speed and 4:10 rear? What do you guys think?

Old 01-12-2014, 05:37 PM
phillips91
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts