Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

89 idi 7.3 going into my 79 f250 questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2014, 08:24 AM
BORDERBUM
Logistics Pro
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
89 idi 7.3 going into my 79 f250 questions

I have a 79 F250 4x4 reg cab long bed. 400 going to another truck of mine. A/c truck 36 inch military tires. Wore out front leaf springs with a no no block lift of 2 inches. Dana 44 front and 60 rear.

I bought the complete chassis from the 89 f350? 2wd no body. C6. has 2 fuel tanks, d70 duelly rear end.

Goal for truck? Pulling rig, drive it 3 or so days a week to work, goose neck option wanted so I don't want to lift the truck too high but as high as I can and still use a goose neck.

Wanting info before I get surprised with stuff I don't know later...if you have done this swap or know someone that has etc your thoughts are more than welcome, I'm not a professional by any means but I do have a fellow FTE member who is that is doing the install. I want to know everything about this swap that I can and have this thread to come back to for reference.
Questions:

1. I heard I need at least 2 inch body lift so that I could take off valve covers etc...is this correct? What if I do the hydra boost brake conversion to save space, will iI still need the bl? I might even go with an aftermarket a/c system and that will save space in the other side.

2. With the weight of the 7.3 idi 900 lbs or so, what is the maximum lift I should go in order to be able to use a goose neck? My neg arch springs are done... I was thinking 4 inch lift springs.....or highboy springs for 3 inches or so?

3. To use the diesel's c6 auto tranny I'm going to need a divorced transfer case? I would like to use the auto tranny.

Any pics of these conversions are welcome and of course any information I will thank you in advance. I'm sure I have more questions.

Old 01-05-2014, 11:30 AM
lindstromjd
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post