6.2L V8 Discuss the 6.2L V8

Questions/clarifications about the 6.2L engine

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2014, 08:06 AM
JimRay
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Questions/clarifications about the 6.2L engine

Hey guys, help me here with a few questions. I have had my 2014 6.2L for about 2500 miles now and have been reading on here to ed-u-ma-cate myself about this engine. I have knowledge about the old 5.8 FI and the EEC-IV computer system with a lean towards the performance side. I have read somewhere that the 6.2L is not direct port fuel injection but looked at the engine bay (which is mostly under the dash) and think I see the fuel rails where they should be for DI. also I knew this engine has two plugs per cylinder and saw how the second plug is served from the same coil pack but under the valve cover.
Does anyone have a source for a drawing/picture/schematic of the 6.2L? I'm an engineer by profession and have a "need to know".

Also, is the FI a return style to the tank?

Old 01-02-2014, 08:57 AM
Go Big or Go Home!
Senior User
Can you post your findings, I just bought a 2014 SD 6.2L also.?

Old 01-02-2014, 09:15 AM
ATP Pilot
More Turbo
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
have you read the "read first" thread in the 6.2 forum? may answer a lot of your questions.

Old 03-17-2014, 11:06 AM
troverman
Hotshot
Received 534 Likes on 258 Posts
This is certainly not a direct-injection engine, but rather a typical port injection motor. The reason dual plugs are used is because of the large size of the valves, and the fact that they are angled into the top of the cylinder. Having two different plug locations ignites the mixture in this engine more efficiently than one plug could. Dual plugs is not a requirement for DI, either.

Regarding the fuel lines, I am not sure if this is a returnless system or not.