1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1951 F5 From Kuwait (project)

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2013, 06:03 PM
Zord
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1951 F5 From Kuwait (project)

Hi all,,

My name is Zaman, I'm from Kuwait, I'm not new into restoration jobs, but Yes, I'm totally new in Ford Worlds.

I have great deal to buy 1951 Ford F5 steak body truck locally here in Kuwait (the car is recently been imported from USA), but I'm little shaky to go. The Cab is in great shape with little rust here and there. It has original 6cy engine, manual trans, and dually rear wheels.

My Plan is to convert it into F1 style, get shortbed instead of the huge flat thingy in the back, engine/trans swap, 4 disks break, as well as front/rear suspension modz.

I need your help guys with the following questions and details:

- Is there any different in the Cab measurements between F1 and F5? Can I still use F1 body part into F5's cab?

- By reviewing original F1 photos on the web, why I have a feeling that F5 front fenders are wider and the wheel arcs are bigger then F1s?

- The car isn't plated and licensed in Kuwait still. Traffic Department here looking for original frame number in the cab's plate as well as same number stamped on the frame. Where can I find frame number? I mean its location.

You answers will make up my mind with this project, so I appreciate your efforts and handsup .. and I'll keep posting my project updates once started.

-- Regards

Old 12-08-2013, 06:12 PM
Zord
New User
Here is the car

Old 12-08-2013, 06:35 PM
The Horvaths
Posting Guru
It looks like at least some of the wheels are not widow makers. That is good.
Sheet metal is effectively identical with the exception of fenders. Running gear and brakes, not so much. The frame number is normally stamped on front passenger-side rail near the cab mount. The truck appears to be in good shape.
Oh, and - welcome!