Sponsored by: Moser

Hauling wood pellets:

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2013, 09:43 AM
shatfieldj
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hauling wood pellets:

Hi all. I'll try to make this short. I have been hauling wood pellets by the ton for several years now with various 1/2 ton pickups. Never had a problem and didn't even think about it. Last week I went to h d and bought a ton. The guy came out with the load and looked at the truck, looked at me, then looked at the truck again. He asked if I ever had a ton on the truck before. (First time I was ever asked that). I said no it's new, but I did have a 04 150 screw that I loaded up. He loaded it. It seemed to sag a little more than my previous truck. I drove home, approx 4 miles without any problems. Then I got to thinking about the look he gave me and the fact that the truck sat lower when loaded. I went online and found people talking about having broken springs, blown tires, etc after hauling pallets with Half ton pickups. Anyone here haul pallets with their 150s? Any problems? I don't want to screw up a new truck. The ford site said my configuration had a payload of 1888 pounds. The door sticker says 1700 pounds. Am ok just going 4 miles with it? Thanks in advance.

Old 12-01-2013, 10:06 AM
Tom
Super Moderator
Received 672 Likes on 441 Posts
Hi Steve,

The problem isn't so much the max payload of the truck but the axle ratings. Looking at the spec sheet your empty rear axle weight should be right around 2,300 lbs. The rear wheels themselves are only rated for 2,025 lbs each, which means that you are over your rated capacity of the wheels with a ton of pellets in the bed. Your RAWR on your sticker is probably 3,850, so you would be a good ~500 lbs over your springs rated capacity.