Large Truck My truck is bigger than yours. The forum for 2+ ton trucks (all years), COE's, Louisville's, Big-Job's etc.

1980 F700 brakes

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2013, 07:52 PM
BillTF700
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1980 F700 brakes

Hey all - new to the forum but I've been driving Ford trucks for close to 15 years.

Just bought a 1980 F700 with a 14-foot dump body. It's got a 370 4V, and 5-speed manual transmission with split rear.

The seller had someone replace a bunch of stuff on it - including most of the brake system. New master cylinder, new booster, new wheel cylinders and most of the brake lines are new.

But despite all those new components, he said they couldn't get the brakes to work right and his mechanic couldn't figure it out (I'm thinking he was using some shade-tree mechanic instead of a truly qualified truck mechanic). He was selling the truck anyhow, and he dropped the price for me to take it with the brake issue.

The pedal goes to the floor and is very spongy, like the system needs to be bled. If you pump it several times, it will finally get firm and the brakes do work - and actually work well. But then the pedal will sink again and you'll have to pump it up again.

Today we bled all four corners and got a bunch of air out, put a bunch of new fluid in, but after all that, it's still exactly the same - as if it still needs to be bled. It's like air is getting back into the system right after we bled it.

One thing I noticed is that when I press the brake pedal with the engine at idle (which is a little rough), the engine slows down and stumbles - so I'm wondering if that's just from the vacuum booster affecting it or an indication of something wrong with the vacuum booster - like brake fluid leaking through the booster back into the engine.