1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

I'm so excited!

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2013, 12:01 PM
toby tough
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm so excited!

Did some work for a fella a month or so ago and saw this old truck sittin" all by itself next to a bean field.I thot,I want that.Asked him about it and he said sure,700 bucks.Hmmm.So I went and checked it out.Pretty rough but I could see the beauty under the rust and weeds growing up out of the bed.It"s an F4 w/duals,1 1/4 ton I guess.Has a dump bed which will be handy bein" I'm a carpenter.Anyways,after about three weeks of fartin" around with it not being too familiar with such 6 volt beasts I got it running! It has a flat 6 w/4 speed trans. PO said it didn't have the dreaded WM's but I'm not too sure about that.Have to find some #'s on the rims I guess.But after much frustration and about 150 in parts I'll be bringin' it home next weekend.This is my first oldtruck project ever,done many Harleys in my day but nothin' like this. Found out that it had been rebuilt 2 years before he parked it,dosen't smoke or leak after sittin' for 10 years.Plugs were nice and clean, needs some wiring replaced and wotnot, but its all there.He must have felt sorry for me cause when I went to pay him for it he says 250 will do.I'm diggin' on that.Gives me more $$ to put towards somethin' else.Sorry to go on like this but I'm so excited!

Old 11-01-2013, 12:11 PM
raytasch
Believe Nothing

Received 244 Likes on 153 Posts
I would be excited too with a find like that. Did you get a title that matches the frame number? F4s are neat, large enough to do some meaningful work. A closeup of the dish side of the wheel will tell if it is the WM or not. Hope it does not have the raised band. So what year is it? Pictures are appreciated.

Old 11-01-2013, 12:13 PM
das54
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts