1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

New guy, to Ford and his new F-250 alike.

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2013, 03:46 PM
M1 Viking
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New guy, to Ford and his new F-250 alike.

Hey guys! I figure that I may as well stop lurking after all the help I garnished from the threads here for the purchase of my new (Old) 1985 Ford F-250 XLT Lariat Explorer 4x4 manual. I adopted her from a nice small-town business owner that could no longer justify a 460ci 3/4ton truck for a weekend dog-runner, haha.

I promptly deleted the weird roof rack that was on it, and the aftermarket camper shell, and lucked out on a set of 315x75 r16 Goodyear Wrangler Dura-traks that I was thrilled to find out squeezed under with just a tiny bit of rubbing on the last 1/4 turn of the wheel on the leafs. (Soon to be corrected with new wheels and perhaps minor suspension lift)

Im an O/O OTR truck driver by trade, and an adventurer by hobby... and this is going to be the new M1 Viking Expeditionary Vehicle... Ive got loads of plans for her and I will post updates as the bigger parts come together, as well as questions as they come up in droves. She is tight, lean, strong, 125k young, and just needs to be spoiled now after a little face lift and a fresh coat of poly.

((Got a little o' the beard in this shot, woopse))

((Aftermarket parts upon purchase- Holly 640cfm carb, and MGS Ignition system))

Old 10-02-2013, 04:21 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,680 Likes on 1,357 Posts
Have you looked under the chrome aircleaner yet to see what carb is on it? I see you live in Nevada, so you should be ok with the aircleaner, but if you plan on driving somewhere with a colder climate, you might want to look for an original aircleaner so you can get some warm air into the carb during cold damp mornings.

Old 10-02-2013, 04:32 PM
JGreen236
Elder User
Man that truck looks nice! Love those tires on it.