1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

F100 Buildup Thread..

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2013, 07:57 PM
Sw1tchfoot
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F100 Buildup Thread..

I wasn't planning on making a thread, but I figured by doing so I would be more encouraged to actually get something done.

Anyway, I'm working on my 1982 F100. I have been driving it around with the 302 and C6 for about three years. I only paid $500 for it but of course it has turned into a money pit.. New tires, carburetor, valve springs, brake hoses, tie rods, and I replaced all the A/C components. Plus other little stuff here and there.. yet it still needs work.

I was getting tired of the poor fuel economy (10-13 mpg) so I purchased a step van locally with a four-cylinder Cummins and Ford T-19 transmission, the odometer only showed 71k miles. Afterwards I started stockpiling new parts and I'm finally ready to install the engine, as time permits.

Heres the engine after a little work.

In the van it had no power steering (only power brakes), so I bought a vacuum/ps combo unit from a 90's Dodge.

Not sure if you guys care, but heres a pic after I got done adjusting the rocker arms.

and test fitting the transmission (picked up a ZF5 S5-42) to use instead of the T19:

Old 10-01-2013, 08:22 PM
bruno2
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I was reading your thread over at 4btswap. Seems like those guys know what is going on. I was looking into doing a swap into a bullnose, but it seems like a standard is the best option without getting into a bunch of BS. I was wanting an auto with OD though.

Old 10-01-2013, 08:33 PM
Sw1tchfoot
Posting Guru
Heres the 302 as it sat this morning (well.. after removing the A/C belt, fan shroud and upper radiator hose):

After a little work:

Finally lifting the engine out:

Yes, I have the privilege of working on rock. I lifted the engine up, then pushed the truck back.