2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Warning: long post. Lean condition bank 1 and 2, random misfire

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2013, 05:21 PM
bamaf150
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Warning: long post. Lean condition bank 1 and 2, random misfire

I apologize in advance for the length of this post:

Hi, I am new to the modern technology as the only stuff I ever work on has a carburetor like my '76 F-100 . I have learned quite a bit though lately but a friends 2006 f-150 with a 4.6L has us pulling our hair out. Its got 175k on the clock and ran like a sewing machine despite little maintenence other than oil changes. Recently it started running like crap; no power and missing so he borrowed a scanner and it was giving mulitple codes. Heres what we have done so far, not necessarily in this order :

1.Checked for vac leaks with carb cleaner (this can be tough as engine runs crappy and hard to detect minor changes in rpms while your under the hood) no leaks detected yet

2. Changed the plugs, all looked good except for one which was heavily fouled and the electrode ate away mostly, I wasnt there and he doesnt remember which one but have a suspicion, more on that in a min

3. Changed most of the COPs and checked them all with a spark tester, all are firing.

4.Cleaned the MAF sensor with MAF cleaner

5. Checked back pressure on the exhaust by removing an upstream o2 sensor and holding a plastic fitting hooked to a pressure gage long enough to get a reading, about 1 lb idling to maybe 2 max when engine is reved, gage is not the best and fluctuates a 1/2 lb or so. Exhaust does not smell of rotten eggs.

6. Changed the fuel filter, it was terrible

7. Ran a bottle of Seafoam in the tank

8. Took the throttle body and egr valve off and checked for carbon stoppage, the holes in the egr were not blocked

9. checked the PVC valve and line and both elbows