1987 F250 460 performance rebuild, dumping the computer?

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2013, 03:37 PM
Chevy Guy Gone FORD
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1987 F250 460 performance rebuild, dumping the computer?

Hi, all.
I'm pretty new to Fords, so please don't laugh at my question!
I recently purchased a 1987 Ford F250 2WD w/ a 460 in it as a tow vehicle for my (overlarge) boat. It is/ has the last year of the carburated 460 in it.

There is so much smog crap in there, it's not funny at all (dual air pump AIR system & EGR) from what I have seen so far poking around under the hood.
It has no CC, I believe it was exempt from that due to its GVWR.
The torque & HP rating for this sized motor is ridiculous, considering the gas mileage. I need some pulling power.
So I am going to do a mild performance rebuild on the motor to boost torque & HP.
I'm sure the computer/ smog system will not work w/ the de-smogged (legal in my state w/ farm plates) performance engine I'm going to build.

What all does the computer in this 1987 model year carburated F250 w/ 460 4bbl. control; & what will I need to do to go back to a conventional electronic ignition system sans the B.S. 1987 computer?

In other words, does it do anything other than flash the idiot lights on the dash when it's not happy?

Thanks in advance, J.D.

Old 09-09-2013, 09:56 AM
BigBlockF350
Posting Guru
If you want some power out of it, throw in an "RV" cam, better intake, and some headers (preferably long tubes), and maybe a different carb. That's all fairly simple stuff without major work.

Slapping on headers, an intake, and throwing a cam in it will give you considerable gain without even pulling the engine from the truck.

You can get rid of all of the AIR and computer stuff. Go with a Duraspark 2 distributor and ICM.

I'm getting my 1973 460 rebuilt right now, but it's been running happily in my 1988 F-350 for 15 years on a Duraspark 2 setup.

Headers: