6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Saving the oil cooler ... Importance of Coolant Flush

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 06:35 PM
BryanStein
Fleet Mechanic
Received 99 Likes on 70 Posts
Saving the oil cooler ... Importance of Coolant Flush

I'm new to the 6.0L. Bought my first one 2 months ago. Details in the signature. I bought it because it had an egr delete 18 months and a new oil cooler 9 months before I bought it. I noticed it had what looked like drops of exhaust soot in the coolant flow, but I didn't think anything about it. Got my gages about 2 weeks after purchase and noticed it was running a delta of 30 degrees (65 mph steady state). I would have loved to try and save the oil cooler, but I had to have the truck to tow the rv. So I pull the new oil cooler on it.

Before the new oil cooler I had to replace a busted radiator (I knew this when I purchased it). Mechanic flushed it (not with restore or vc-9, but with simply green degreaser). I didn't have gages to check the delta before the flush. After getting a new radiator and altenator, I notice the high deltas. At the time, I thought it was a good thing my coolant system was clean because I wouldn't have to worry about clogging up the new oil cooler. Looking back, the flush could have caused the high deltas.

After noticing the high deltas, I flushed it myselft because I wasn't convinced the mechanic did it correclty. It didn't change my deltas. I didn't use restore or vc-9 because I couldn't find it an I was in a hurry because I had to pull the rv the coming weekend. I got lots of crude out of system, but my detlas remained the same. This is when I decided to change the oil cooler.