General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Any of you guys tend vegetable gardens?

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2013, 09:27 AM
SideWinder4.9l
FTE Chapter Leader

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Any of you guys tend vegetable gardens?

This is my first year for tending my OWN garden, but I've helped my parents tend the same piece of land for roughly 10-13 yrs..

Awesomely fertile soil, and the stuff always does excellent.

If you have a garden, lemme see it! Post pics of the overall garden, some of your veggies up close, etc..

Here's one of mine, about 1/2 weeded out. L-R is 3 rows of beans, 1 row of lettuce, and 1 row of tomatoes.

Notice the grapevine at the far right.

Old 07-23-2013, 01:18 AM
ArdWrknTrk
pedant

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
I just have a tiny 8x12' patch behind the house, but it is the only unpaved ground on the lot.

I make the best of it.

This is a while ago.
Chard, spinach & beets are done.
Tomatoes and peppers are as high as that 6' fence & completely out of control right now.
Had some beans tonight actually.

I've got some lettuce and root vegetables in the center now.
Their leaves will help protect the soil from drying out.

Old 07-23-2013, 02:32 AM
SideWinder4.9l
FTE Chapter Leader

Very nice Jim!

I've got a bunch of tomatoes on the way, about 1/2 way grown. Lettuce is growing faster than I can eat it...

3 weeks of not being able to weed out my garden for one reason or another has allowed it to become something similar to some of the jungle scenes in "Jumanji".

As I was weeding part of the tomato plants/ lettuce out, I half expected to see Robin Williams run out from between the plants and a Rhino closing in...

Old 07-23-2013, 02:37 AM
SideWinder4.9l
FTE Chapter Leader

Originally Posted by ArdWrknTrk

Can I suggest getting some treated 4x4's and making a "Raised" section around 3 sides, and do some "Trough" gardening?