Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

A few questions, 460 to 6.9 IDI change

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2013, 09:47 PM
86pullerf350
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A few questions, 460 to 6.9 IDI change

Hey guys I am new to the diesel world and I have a couple of questions about doing an engine swap from gas to diesel. I have a complete 86 f250 xlt diesel auto 4x4 donor truck that is beyond saving due to rot. My truck is an 86 f350 460 4spd 4x4 (see sig). I have a bell housing to keep my f350 a 4spd.

Will the 6.9 engine mount bolts line up with the 460s engine mount bolt holes in the crossmember of the frame? Or does it need some fabrication?

What should I do to the engine while its out of the truck?

I will change the rear main seal, glow plugs, valve cover and oil pan gaskets. Is there anything else I should look at or change?

Also I want to delete the air pump, can I do that too without it causing any problems?

Thanks for any ideas.

Old 06-29-2013, 05:32 AM
tecgod13
Logistics Pro
Received 119 Likes on 100 Posts
By air pump do you mean the vacuum pump thats mounted under the alternator?
You need that to run the vacuum booster for your brakes, and the vacuum heater controls. Diesels don't pull a vacuum off the manifold like gassers do, so they need an auxiliary vac pump.

Old 06-29-2013, 10:50 AM
Ford F834
Postmaster
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts