6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Acquiring 2004 or 2006 F250 Diesel

Old 06-14-2013, 06:55 AM
TonyJestis
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Acquiring 2004 or 2006 F250 Diesel

I may be coming into a 2004 to 2006 Ford F-250 Diesel. I say "may" because I have been told that this truck needs $3000.00 worth of engine work done. It has the "Power Stroke" diesel. I know this engine is similar to the DT488 wet sleeve engine that International uses.

I can't imagine what would cost $3000 to repair on this thing. But then again, I am a mechanic and what may cost $3000 to have a shop repair, may only cost me a fraction in parts. I do know these things have a problem with the pump that is located under the intake in the center section. This problem is usually avoidable if owners do proper maintenance, but most owners are clueless about proper maintenance on a diesel engine.

I know I am shooting in the dark, but does anyone have an idea what the MOST likely problems there could be which would cause the engine NOT to run and would cost the average owner $3000 to have a shop repair?

Thanks,

Tony

Old 06-14-2013, 07:52 AM
Coronado
Mountain Pass
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
For $3,000, it's probably head gaskets, or all 8 injectors or some combination of both.

Typical shop cost is $3k for headgaskets.

This engine is not a DT488, the 6.0 is a VT365 from International.

Old 06-14-2013, 07:54 AM
powerstroke72
Super Moderator
Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts
Moved to the 6.0L Powerstroke Diesel forum.

Old 06-14-2013, 08:08 AM
TonyJestis
Senior User