Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Super Duty/Heavy Duty > Large Truck
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Large Truck My truck is bigger than yours. The forum for 2+ ton trucks (all years), COE's, Louisville's, Big-Job's etc.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-07-2013, 10:06 PM
johnwilsonosf johnwilsonosf is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
johnwilsonosf is starting off with a positive reputation.
F800 Brake/Turn Signal Wiring

Greetings all,
Long time reader, new member, hoping to be able to get help and help others. I have a 1998 F800 with a cummins 5.9. I lost my turn signals, and am trying to get them back. Under the dash, there was a red wire spliced into a fuse, spliced into a blue wire that goes to the brake pedal button. The fuse was melted, so I removed it, and straight wired the red and blue wires. I have brake lights, but no turn signals, however I do have hazards.
However, if I turn on the hazards, the electric brake motor comes on at each "flash."
Should I put the fuse in, or should something else go in? so It does not activate the brake motor. Or is there some other thing I should look for? Any idea would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2013, 02:01 AM
rummur s.c.'s Avatar
rummur s.c. rummur s.c. is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Seattle Washington
Posts: 290
rummur s.c. is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Some one wired that thing wrong.. obviously.

There should be 2 switches on the brake pedal. One for the lights and one for the emergency pump on the brake manifold.

Sounds like someone pulled the brake lights from the wrong switch and it was actually the brake booster switch..

No turn signals is probably related to brake switch issue. Just start at the flasher and move either towards the fuse box or towards the signal switch..

Good luck out there..
__________________
rummursc.com - Northwest's ruffage & land clearing specialists
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2013, 06:40 PM
johnwilsonosf johnwilsonosf is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
johnwilsonosf is starting off with a positive reputation.
rummer,
Thank you. I will give it a go, and see what I find.

John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2013, 10:05 PM
johnwilsonosf johnwilsonosf is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
johnwilsonosf is starting off with a positive reputation.
Rummur,
When I look below the dash, I only see one switch on the brake pedal. (It was getting dark when I looked, so I will look more closely at first light tomorrow) The picture (linked) below shows the wires leaving that switch. The Red wire spilts into two wires shortly after the switch. The black wire I assume is incoming power, as when I jumped the existing splice to the red wire that was hanging, the brake lights are constant on.
http://sites.lafayette.edu/wilsonj/f800/

As you can see on the picture, there is a blue splice on that black wire. Then, on the red wire is another splice. This splice is the one that allows me to have brake lights, and hazards, but the brake motor comes on with the hazard flash.

I do not see any other loose wires below, but as I said earlier, I will dig deeper in the morning.

Also, I installed a new Turn signal switch a while ago. When I installed it, I had a white plastic piece that did not go to anything. The original switch that I removed, did not have this extra wire. This can be seen in the second picture on the link above.

If there was a second switch, where would I look? Or what other things might I look for.

Thank you,
John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2013, 12:34 AM
rummur s.c.'s Avatar
rummur s.c. rummur s.c. is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Seattle Washington
Posts: 290
rummur s.c. is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
I cant remember if they were stacked, or if one was up where the pedal pivots? The truck I was remembering was a 1990 ford f700 with a 429, its possible they're different too.

Any body have a wiring diagram to confirm the two switches?
__________________
rummursc.com - Northwest's ruffage & land clearing specialists
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2013, 09:32 PM
johnwilsonosf johnwilsonosf is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
johnwilsonosf is starting off with a positive reputation.
I found the tail of the wire that was spliced. It was cut out of the fuse box. I put it back together, and I have brake lights. However, I still do not have turn signals.
I can get the turn signals to work when the switch is out of the steering column. As soon as I put the switch into the steering column, and screw it down, it no longer works. It is almost as if something is grounding out. I think I have the wrong switch, so I am going to look into this next. RockAuto says Standard Motor Products #CBS1917. The switch I have in currently has the number 60H193, not sure of the manufacturer.

See what tomorrow brings.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2013, 12:56 PM
Pete Kildow Pete Kildow is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 220
Pete Kildow is starting off with a positive reputation.
Have you got this figured out yet? AS my 1987 F800 is doing the same with the lights. Now it has air brakes so does not have your issue.
But Blinkers ar dim or don't work at all. Shows there working on the dash, but not any lights blinking 95% of the time. Now Flashers work most of the time front and back.

Thinking its in the switch at the steering wheel but not sure yet.
Pete

Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2013, 01:30 PM
johnwilsonosf johnwilsonosf is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
johnwilsonosf is starting off with a positive reputation.
It definately was the switch in the steering column. The hazards contacts work, but the turn signals do not work, unless the hazards pull lever thing is in just the right spot. Now if I have no blinkers, I just wiggle the hazard thing, and all is well again.

John
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2013, 02:51 PM
Pete Kildow Pete Kildow is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 220
Pete Kildow is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwilsonosf View Post
It definately was the switch in the steering column. The hazards contacts work, but the turn signals do not work, unless the hazards pull lever thing is in just the right spot. Now if I have no blinkers, I just wiggle the hazard thing, and all is well again.

John
Thanks I know if I'm running down the road I have turn singles but there dim. But sitting still its a crap shoot.
Will be taking the wheel off and putting a new switch on .
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2013, 06:35 PM
Pete Kildow Pete Kildow is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 220
Pete Kildow is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Kildow View Post
Thanks I know if I'm running down the road I have turn singles but there dim. But sitting still its a crap shoot.
Will be taking the wheel off and putting a new switch on .
Pete
Found my issue. Some fool has the power to the blinkers coming from the Altnator and not the battery. Thus you have to be turning enough RPM's for the power to kick in. Then I have blinkers.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-27-2013, 10:12 PM
johnwilsonosf johnwilsonosf is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
johnwilsonosf is starting off with a positive reputation.
You just have to power through the turns.....lol
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-27-2013, 10:18 PM
Pete Kildow Pete Kildow is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 220
Pete Kildow is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwilsonosf View Post
You just have to power through the turns.....lol
Got that right, but how about when sitting still waiting to turn?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-15-2013, 03:48 PM
Pete Kildow Pete Kildow is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 220
Pete Kildow is starting off with a positive reputation.
Somehow there was a Black wire with the end nakid behind the fuse box on mine. It was shorting out the Flasher, when I got it out of the way. Turn signals work perfect now. Not sure how or why it was under the box. But it sure was and have not tracked it down yet to see where it runs to.

Thought I would update this . As I know its nice to find out the ending to issues. And may help someone else out, never know when the same crazy guy may have worked on yours.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-15-2013, 09:33 PM
johnwilsonosf johnwilsonosf is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
johnwilsonosf is starting off with a positive reputation.
Pete, I agree. I think we had the same crazy guy working on our trucks. Glad you found that wire.....Now the fun part....looking for the other half of that black wire. Good luck.

John
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-15-2013, 10:28 PM
Pete Kildow Pete Kildow is offline
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 220
Pete Kildow is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwilsonosf View Post
Pete, I agree. I think we had the same crazy guy working on our trucks. Glad you found that wire.....Now the fun part....looking for the other half of that black wire. Good luck.

John
John I fear it may run to the Transformer for the REactor with the stupid stuff this guy or guys did on wiring some stuff. Will be rewiring all the lights and switches on it. And still looking for the wire to the radiator for the warning buzzer and temp gauge. LOL
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:28 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turn Signal/Hazard Switch 1977F250Custom4x4 1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1 11-25-2013 09:09 PM
Electrical questions ttexastim 1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 5 05-04-2010 07:53 AM
1961 Turn Signal conversion (CharlieMccraney) Greywolf 1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks 0 04-30-2009 03:54 PM
Need help with NSS wiring bypass 75 Ford F100 wrenchhead427 1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1 05-13-2007 08:06 AM
69 F100 Brakelights Dennis_IL Electrical Systems/Wiring 7 03-12-2002 07:57 PM


Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Super Duty/Heavy Duty > Large Truck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump


Participate In The Forums

Create new posts and participate in discussions. It's free!

Sign Up »





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 AC1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertising - Terms of Use - Privacy Statement - Jobs
This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.

vbulletin Admin Backup