Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Diesel > Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-03-2013, 08:33 AM
Senior User

granny_rocket is starting off with a positive reputation.
Bio Diesel Newbie

Hey Folks,
While I'm not new to the world for Ford truck diesels, I am new to the idea and potential following thru of making bio-diesel. If I do go through with this "project" I want to go ***** to the wall. I have even gone as far as debating buying a turbo-diesel Jetta (an older on) to replace my current gasoline vehicle, assuming I can do this. Between the already incredible high mileage of the jetta and the "free" biodiesel I should theoretically be at a "0" cost for my fuel. This would also allow me to run my Powerstroker much more often without fearing the fuel bill at the pump!

I've been doing initial research on how the process works. I get you add lye, methanol and shake, let it sit then "sift". I know there is also a lot more involved like washing, etc.

SO that being said I"m looking for some web-site research. Are there good sites to get started on? I didn't see any stickies in this forum (ahem...perhaps someone could make a sticky??? LOL)

Thanks so Much
and Happy Rattling!

Al C
'98 Volkswagen Jetta TDI - my 50 mpg (that's not a typo) commuter car!
Old 06-03-2013, 11:35 AM
Posting Guru